Dance, Life, and Lunges

June 6, 2007

Nevermind

Filed under: Idle Thoughts, Life — thatdancinggirl @ 7:15 pm

Ugh! I failed!

I almost made it two days without any coffee, and then I crashed. As soon as I got home from school, I helped myself to two generous servings of the magical bean drink (coffffeeeeeee!). As the first drop of coffee hit my tongue, there was a party in my mouth (I swear my tastebuds had a conga line going on!). The deep, numbing headache subsided and my mood was instantly uplifted….damn this is some powerful stuff!

 So what exactly led to this breakdown?

School.

Yes, I go to a university where there is a coffee shop/kiosk virtually everywhere. The warm aroma is inescapable. Everywhere I looked, I saw people drinking coffee, buying coffee, and talking about coffee. I could even smell coffee in my organic chem lab (I think that one was psychologically induced)! It was a very, VERY difficult day. I could barely take notes during my first class, and almost fell asleep 4 times in my second…definitely not what I was looking for when I decided to cut out the java.

I still want to cut down on coffee, but quitting cold turkey has proven far too difficult for my little soul. Although doing it gradually may take longer, I think it will be easier to maintain over a longer period of time (as opposed to almost 2 days). I still want to reap the benefit of tea, so I think I’ll replace one (or two, or three) of my daily coffees with tea. I know that green and white teas are generally the best, but I am really loving the loose leaf vanilla rooibos that is served at the coffee shop at our campus.

Attempt #2 may have failed, but I am not going to give up on this one just yet!

Till next time………

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

