Dance, Life, and Lunges

June 5, 2007

Coffee-free for a day!

Filed under: Life — thatdancinggirl @ 5:38 pm

Today, I quit drinking coffee.

For those of you who know me quite well, that statement is astounding! Ever since I began going to university (3 years ago), I have been known to hold a huge bag (Lululemon of course) in one hand and a giant cup of coffee in another. Coffee and I are inseparable.

Well, we were, until today.

Last night, I was a bit bored with studying, so I began looking at a couple posts on Wisebread and found an interesting article about quitting coffee. As a self-proclaimed coffee connoisseur, I have read many, many, MANY articles about coffee (and more often than not, the benefits of drinking coffee), however, for some reason, that particular article struck a chord. I could identify with the author’s dependence on coffee, and to tell you the truth, it scared me. Not only that, lately I have noticed my heart racing at odd times of the day, excessively sweaty palms (ew), the inability to focus during the day without any coffee, and just being plain exhausted after a full night’s sleep. In addition to that, I realized today that I have been drinking more coffee than water and milk combined!  

Desperate for change, I googled “how to quit coffee”, and found dozens of quizzes and tips on how to ween one’s self off the bean. The fact that I had ALL the symptoms of a coffee addict further motivated me to put an end to the Joe. So that’s what I did today.

It has been a horrible experience and I’ve been suffering from a throbbing headache all day. I did allow myself one cup of tea, but I continue to fantasize about coffee and its warm, flavorful aroma. I haven’t decided if I want to stop drinking caffeine altogether, or if it’s just the coffee that I’m eschewing. I think I will stick to tea for the next little while, but in the meantime, I’ll read up on some pros vs. cons of green/black tea.

I’ll keep updating on my progress, but I gotta run right now (time to study physics!).

Wish me luck on this new endeavour.

🙂

1 Comment »

  1. Hey, thanks for the link. I wish you the best of luck with your endeavors. As I said in my article, there’s nothing wrong with enjoying some decaf if you really miss the coffee flavor and smell. It might not hit the spot in the same way, but it’s not a bad substitute. Tea is extremely good for you, but can have similar effects if consumed in mass quantities (like the Coneheads).

    Anyway, hope it goes well for you! It’s a big step. 🙂

    Comment by Andrea D — June 6, 2007 @ 12:09 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

