Dance, Life, and Lunges

May 17, 2007

Verbally Imcompetent

Filed under: Idle Thoughts — thatdancinggirl @ 6:03 am

Argh! I am suffering from a severe case of “being unable to write a decent sentence”. For the past while (I think I mentioned this when I started this blog), I have been a creative disaster. I used to be able to write beautiful compositions effortlessly, now I can’t even type five words without hitting the backspace button. When I go to back to the blog of my muse (identity cannot be disclosed), I cannot help be feel a pang of jealousy. My muse is so extremely witty and eloquent, and while I couldn’t be more prouder of her talents, sometimes I cannot help but feel like a unintelligent baffoon!

Okay now, stop with the self-pitying (yes I’m beginning to annoy myself too!).

Deep breath. Innnnnnnnn annnnnnnd Ouuuuuuutttttttt.

Lets start again :).

So when I started this blog (last week), I was under the impression that I’d suddenly start spewing out masterpiece after masterpiece that would generate a huge fan base pour moi.

Erm…no…that didn’t happen. As far as I know, two people have checked this place out…

“Hey you two people…thanks for visiting!!!!”

So why haven’t things gone according to plan?

Well after much contemplation (yep, a full 5 minutes of it), I realized that expecting myself to “spew out masterpiece after masterpiece” was actually quite unrealistic. I haven’t done any real writing (aside from journal writing, but that doesn’t count) since last summer, so I’m a bit rusty. Also, I have been here a total of 3 times. Consistency definitely isn’t one of my strong suits. Thirdly, I can’t expect hundreds of people to read and love me in a week! This blog is a outlet for me…a therapuetic medium…and if one person reads and enjoys something here, then I should consider myself more than lucky.

With all this in mind, I have come up with a new mantra for myself: “Baby steps…baby steps”. Nothing is impossible, but one must start out small. I have always been an over-achiever, well a lazy over-achiever (its the thought that counts!), so the concept of making realistic goals will be difficult for me to grasp. Oh well…all I gotta do is take baby steps….

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

