Dance, Life, and Lunges

May 8, 2007

Focus

Filed under: Dance, Life — thatdancinggirl @ 4:06 am

 

“Don’t chase after the past,

Don’t seek the future.

The past is gone,

The future hasn’t come yet.

See clearly on the spot,

The object which is now.”

– The Buddha –

The above quote has got to be one of my absolute favourites.

Why, you ask?

Well, lets just say, that I belong to the majority of university students who tend to do anything and EVERYTHING except what they are actually supposed to do; in simpler terms, I am a self-confessed, master procrastinator. Reading this quote sort of puts me back on track, at least until something else distracts me.

Today was the first day of the summer semester. Although the workload for today was quite light (read the syllabus…yay), I can feel my internal to-do list lengthening by the minute. During my 3 week spring “non-break”, I became a little over-ambitious, and scheduled as many things as I possible could for the next two weeks…am I regretting that? Not yet. However, in order to stay on top of things, I’m going to have to mend my time-wasting-ways and actually do what I am supposed to do. Sigh

So today, after four days of just oozing lethargy, I finally made my way back to the gym. Correction. I made my way back to the gym IN my workout clothes WITH the intention to workout. You see, I am a weight trainer at the local YMCA, so I spend a lot of time there…unfortunately, most of that time is not spent “goddess-a-fying” my body. Well anyways, it was really warm today and I didn’t feel like exercising much, so I thought I would just do a quick little thing and get outta there (don’t get me wrong…I love exercising…but sometimes it’s a love-hate relationship)…it didn’t work out that way. The gym was super busy, and filled mostly with my friends and co-workers, who all happened to be working out…I couldn’t slack off! So I basically OWNED the machine and sprinted back home on an adrenaline-high.

That high was short-lived.

I planned on practicing dance straight after I got home, but I ended up giving my younger sister a long-awaited lesson. Now, its my turn to practice…but I really don’t feel like it. If I were as strict on myself as I am on her, I would be a pro in no time….but I’ve been way too easy on myself. This has got to change. I’m babbling on aren’t I? I’m just trying to avoid my varanam (35 minute piece). Time to look back at the aforementioned quote and do what I have to do – – DANCE!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.